Adventures in the Kitchen. Part 1

So I’m on vacation this week. I have an entire list of things to do around the house, so I know I won’t get bored! The grocery store had 5 lb bags of potatoes on sale so I thought to myself, I’ll make up a huge batch of twice baked potato casserole and freeze some of it so we can eat REAL potatos instead of the box stuff for a while. Well, since I’ve never made potatoes in that quantity before I put in 1 Tbsp of salt 1 Tbsp of pepper and 1 tsp of garlic powder. Dumb dumb dumb!!! The pepper was so strong. So I thought, the only way to fix this is to make another batch, so I went back to the store and bought a second five lb bag and baked them, peeled them and added them to the first mix. There is still too much pepper, but at least it’s edible now. I’m hoping that by the time I add a little more milk and butter and the cheese and bacon bits, it will be just right.

I should have taken some pictures of the whole process and done a tabblo. I never think to do that while I’m in the middle of these things. A great tabblo would have been the 20 apples I peeled and cooked up last night! There is a muscle in my right arm that is sore from all the paring knife use. It’s really very funny. With that many apples (and it might have even been more, I wasn’t actually counting) I got a good size batch of apple sauce, some apple cider and enough sliced apples for a german apple pie which I plan to bake tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

