Why TV is bad for society.

October 20, 2006

I only ever watched Sex and the City a few times. The characters always came across as self absorbed Prima Donna’s to me. Sorry to those of you who were big fans of the show, but I call it like I see it.

I bring this up because it occurred to me today that too many young women out there must have watched this show and decided that being a Prima Donna is the only way to move through life. They dress well, they believe the world should revolve around them and they whine when they can’t keep a boyfriend because they use them like kleenex and are nothing but bitchy to them.

Correct me if I’m wrong (and I’m sure some one will correct me) but if you go into a place that has rules and policies, isn’t it your place to abide by these rules and policies, even if you don’t agree with them? Specifically turning off a cell phone in a testing center. Every one who comes in is told the exact same thing. Your cell phone must be turned completely off and it can’t go in the room with you.

We’ve gotten use to the frantic mothers who are positive that their child will befall a fate worse than death while they’re testing and 911 will be unreachable. Our response is, even if your phone did ring while you were testing, we’re not coming in to get you to answer it. We are proctors, not student’s personal secretaries. And while not happy about it, they do aquiese.
But lately, we’ve been getting a number of 20 somethings (all female no less which leads me to my Sex and the City theory) that just quite frankly don’t believe that they should have to turn it off. Or they “can’t”. My favorite excuse is “My phone doesn’t turn off”. Bullsh*t. They all turn off one way or another. And you see, I don’t care that your phone is on silent, our policy is to TURN IT OFF!!! If you don’t turn it off, and it rings, vibrates or in any other way disturbs me, I will pull the battery out of it. It’ll certainly turn off then, won’t it. The end. Don’t like it, don’t bring your phone. We don’t have to collect them and keep then safe for you. We could make you go back to your car and leave it there. The policy stands, so do us all a favor and check the additude at the door. You aren’t entitled and I don’t care how nicely you dress, if your a bitch, you’ll be treated accordingly. Oh and one more thing – I don’t endure temper tantrums from four year olds. I’m certainly not going to take it from you.

Leave a Reply

