The Written Word

January 25, 2007

I passed a little grey house on the way to work today that used to be some sort of business and is now up for rent. This little house/business jumped out at me, slapped me across the face as I drove past and screamed “ME! ME! I’m the perfect place for you bookstore!!!”
I’ve wanted to open my own bookstore ever since I was in high school. This is a life long dream of mine that I never expected to actually pursue. But today… I’m obsessing about it. I plotted and planned all the way to work. I jumped on the web as soon as I got here and started researching it. I even ordered a book about running a bookstore (they didn’t have it though the library system, I already checked.) So how insane am I? There’s no way I could quit either of my jobs to get this off the ground. There’s no possible way a bank would even approve me for a loan. And I know that it’s not going to happen this year. But I seriously think this could be a reality in maybe two years? I even have a name for my store. The Written Word. I want it to be a combination of new and old books. And there could be reading groups who gather at my store. And I would totally carry books that the H.S. English classes are reading and feature those books at the right time. And I would have big comfy chairs so people could come and hang out. I even thought that maybe, just maybe, I could steal the Willow Houses idea and rent out a wall or two to local artists. There’s already a coffee house a few doors down, so I don’t know how well my cafe would go over. But in Lockport, where I live, this would be a great spot. The nearest mega bookstores are 15 to 20 minutes away in either direction. There is a tiny bookstore just across the street that I found online (I never even realized that it existed before), but they cater to comic books, fantasy and role playing stuff.

So, am I completely crazy? If it’s done tastefully, is this the kind of place you would go? Please be honest.

Leave a Reply

