Passing on

May 2, 2006

We’ve all read those emails about regrets at the end of a life. It’s amazing how true that is. I regret that I didn’t spend more time with my grandmother. She passed away Friday night at 11:03 p.m. She got to die exactly how she wanted – in her sleep with her family all around.

I kept saying that this was the year I was going to make more trips to Bloomington to see her. I was going to take more time out of my schedule. I just didn’t do it often enough. But I know that she knew how much I loved her. And I know my mom is right. No guilt. Guilt tarnishes our memories of what we did have with the person who’s gone on before us.

So, here’s to a terrific woman who left one hell of a legacy behind her. Rest in peace Grandma.

Leave a Reply

