NO MORE!

March 24, 2006

I hereby proclaim – NO MORE! No more shall I entertain feelings of guilt for other people’s life decisions. (I’m thinking of making T-Shirts with that slogan and selling them!) I am SICK and tired of people judging my job – telling me I don’t work hard enough, or that my job(s) aren’t important, hard, or stressful!

I admit, I used to feel guilt when people would tell me about their days, and how they were non-stop running from the time their foot hit the door until they got out of work three hours late. I let them make me feel like a slug despite the fact that my day too begins as early as 7:30 a.m. and doesn’t finish until 10:30 at night! Well, no more!

Yes, I admit that both of my jobs have a lot of down time. But when we get busy we work our buts off. Does anyone condemn firefighters just because they aren’t fighting fires for 10 hours strait? No. And no, my job isn’t as important as a firefighter’s job, but it’s the same concept. When there is work, I work. When there isn’t work, I wait. It’s not that I’m lazy; it’s the nature of the job. So scorn me all you want, but I’m not going to pay attention anymore. YOU choose the type of work you do. If you don’t like it, then change. That’s all. I’m done.

Leave a Reply

