Love Affairs

February 3, 2006

I have this large (and by large I mean 16 lbs) white cat who is having a love affair with my computer. Unfortunetly this affair only occurs when any of us sit down to the computer. Even now, as I’m trying to type this, he’s got his head laid on the number keys and he’s purring up a storm. Every once in a while, he’ll reach up with an open paw and “pet” the monitor screen. I can’t decide whether or not to be disturbed by this. It always starts out as him pawing at my leg to get into my lap. Once there, he lulls me into thinking he’s content by purring and butting his head against mine. Then he will ooze onto the desk and sit on top off my mouse hand. Obviously this will relagate him back to my lap. But before I know it, he’s back on the desk, stretched out and is using my keyboard as his pillow as he is now.

I know what you’re thinking. This is obviously a plea for attention from me, but if that were true, he wouldn’t try to flee every time I sit on the couch and try to pet him. Or even now when I grabbed my camera. Poof. He’s gone.

It’s definetly the computer that he’s fasinated with because he does it to Tony and Don too, even if we’re all in the living room at the same time. I’d consider a kitty shrink, except his fear of my camera equals his love of the computer, so this obviously balances everything out.

Leave a Reply

