Jumping off a cliff

April 10, 2007

About two weeks ago I applied for a position at the paper. I’ve done this many times. 7 or 8 approximately. It never goes anywhere.

Last Tuesday I had my interview. Don’t ooh and aaah yet. They have to interview company employees. It’s our policy that we check to make sure no one in house who wants the job is qualified for it before we offer it to anyone out of house.

Well, you can ooh and aah. I got the job. It’s days, it’s at the Herald, which is only 20 minutes from my house instead of 1 hour. I get to keep my current pay. I’m so excited. I can’t stop grinning.

I’m also sad and scared. I’ve taken this job as a leap of faith. I can’t pay my bills on my one paycheck alone. I’m sad because I’m going to have to quit my job at the school, and back to scared because I’ll only have the one job.

I love working with Denise in Distance Ed and I’m going to miss that. But on the other hand, the school is changing, and not for the better. Denise is going to finish her Bachlors degree since she dicovered she’s only about a year away from it and then she probably will move on too.
As for the one job, I’m trusting God to provide for me. At the very least to provide another part time job. I feel like I’ve taken a financial jump off of a cliff. I’ve never been in a position before where I wasn’t making enough to pay my bills, and I don’t intend to stay in this position, but I have to trust God to have a net waiting. I have really good credit and I’m afraid of screwing that up. Especially as I’m getting the point in my life where I’ve started yearning for my own house.
So I feel as though I’m floating in space after having taken this leap and I can’t see the ground below. It’s exhilerating and scary all at the same time. I guess this is what real skydiving must feel like, except the anticipation is over a whole lot quicker. There is no consequences months down the line…

Leave a Reply

