Priorities

October 26, 2005

It’s truly amazing how crazy money can make us. I though this evening that I had lost my new cell phone. This is a phone that I just had to have. I lusted after this phone for over a year and connived to get this very phone. I’ve had it about two weeks and I thought for certain that it was gone. I was nearly in tears over the fact that I had spent so much money on this phone and was tied into a year contract that I now had no phone, or even a simm card for. And I just knew that this was punishment for being so damn materialistic. I mean let’s be honest. Nobody needs a certain cell phone. Any cell phone will do. And most people don’t even have the luxury of having any cell phone. But I get these obsessions in my head and I don’t rest until I’ve gotten my own way. Gee, if only I were that single minded about things that actually matter!

I do believe though that sometimes things go very wrong, at least from our perspective, because maybe were on the wrong track. The things that go wrong may be a message that our priorities are out of whack and we need to step back and re-evaluate. I’m sure many of you will disagree with that assessment, but I really don’t think I’m wrong about this one. Every time I quit placing importance on unimportant things, that’s usually when everything starts falling back into its proper place. Just a few words of wisdom from someone who usually doesn’t do much more than bitch. J

Leave a Reply

